Tag Archives: life

You Don’t Know Her Story

Parents gathered in the entryway. Waiting on the bus that would carry them and the children on a field trip. I stand chatting with the teacher as I hear another mom saying to another “well these are my walking shoes.” I glance over to see her in four inch heels and skin tight clothes. “I usually wear five inch heels,” she laughs.

“And what does that say about you?” I think to myself.

The bus arrives and the students file on. We begin the hour journey to our destination. The children listen to and learn from the tour guide and are then released to explore the exhibits on their own.

I see the mom and her son. He remains as shy as I remember him from days I have substituted. The mom’s attitude comes across as flirtatious as I see her interacting.

My thoughts focusing on how she is dressed. How she walks.

And my thoughts are not kind.

We leave this stop on our trip and I feel that gentle tap on my spirit.

“You didn’t talk to her. You hid inside your comfort zone. Did you make an effort? Introduce yourself and ask her about herself?”

God reminds me.

“You don’t know her story.”

Ouch.

 

Too often I hide behind my shyness and make judgmental assumptions instead of looking deeper for a person’s story. Do you struggle with judging someone based on their appearance and attitude instead of remembering we all have a story?

Life: Unmasked

Project Life: December 9 – 12, 2010

Thurs, Dec 9, 2010 – Frigid temps blew in. Not quite used to temps this low in December.

Thurs, Dec 9, 2010 – Subbing in the library. Classes were coming in to do Christmas crafts. Nothing like painting craft sticks with 7 classes to stress you out.

Fri, Dec 10, 2010 – Sunset on the way home from Birmingham.

Fri, Dec 10, 2010 – Christmas shopping almost complete.

Fri, Dec 10, 2010 – Kiddo began a new way of learning to play guitar this week. Chord charts.

Sat, Dec 11, 2010 – Bought our sweet girl a giant bone. She finished it off within hours.

Sun, Dec 12, 2010 – My sweet hubby built me a fire.

Project Life: December 1 – 4, 2010

Wednesday, December 1, 2010 – I let the laundry get out of control. It took hours to get it all folded and ironed and put away.

Thursday, December 2, 2010 – I find the little cat curled up in Squirt’s closet a lot. Usually he’s laying on top of his clothes.

Friday, December 3, 2010 – Enjoyed seeing one of my favorite photography clients perform in a local theater production. She’s quite the little actress.

Saturday, December 4, 2010 – Slowly but surely coming along on the scarf I’m knitting.

Project Life: November

Monday, November 1, 2010 – I probably take way too many photos of the Fall sky. The blue is just blue-er.

Monday, November 1, 2010 – The sun rays coming through the clouds was so pretty this afternoon. Not sure the photo can do it justice though.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010 – Voting Day.

Wednesday, November 3, 2010 – My sweet little L turned one! When did that happen…

Thursday, November 4, 2010 – Field trip with the gifted class to Fort Toulousse for Pioneer Days.

Thursday, November 4, 2010 – We had a girls night taking out my best friend for Mexican the night before her 40th birthday.

Friday, November 5, 2010 – Surprise 40th birthday party for my best friend.

Saturday, November 6, 2010 – More close encounters with a deer.

Saturday, November 6, 2010 – Sweet L’s one year birthday party. She didn’t know what to think.

Monday, November 8, 2010 – Celebrating a friend’s birthday with Mexican. They brought out her cake and smothered the cream on her nose.

Monday, November 8, 2010 – Hubby worked hard over the weekend to get the leaves gathered up.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 – Beautiful sunset over the golf course.

Saturday, November 13, 2010 – The JSU Southerners play during the pregame.

Love the foothills in Jacksonville.

JSU pulled out the win.

The Southerners performed their half-time show after the game due to special half-time activities. Of course we had to stay to see them.

Monday, November 15, 2010 – The good thing about a rainy day? Cute rain boots.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010 – Early morning fog over the lake.

Saturday, November 20, 2010 – Visited the Montgomery Museum of Fine Art for the Artists Market

Monday, November 22, 2010 – Our favorite tree finally busted out its color.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010 – Our favorite tree on a cold, foggy morning.

A friend of ours is the golf course superintendent and his dog always rides around with him. I’ve been saying for over a year I wanted to get a photo of them for my pic of the day.

The colors of the trees downtown. One reason I love Fall.

112410_0071Aweb

Thursday, November 25, 2010 – Thanksgiving so of course the annual photo of the grandchildren.

Friday, November 26, 2010 – Alabama vs. Auburn. We took Pop to the game. Squirt had a great time with his Pop at least until the outcome of the game.

Waiting for kick-off.

Pregame.

Kick-off.

Project Life: September 27 – October 29, 2010

Okay. I am so behind in posting my photos-a-day. I haven’t taken a photo every day either. But that’s okay. I’ve made up for the ones I’ve missed on other days. So my next few days will be trying to catch up.

Monday, September 27, 2010 – Art lessons

Monday, September 27, 2010 – Sunset over the lake.

Tuesday, September 28, 2010 – Subbing in the library.

Wednesday, September 29, 2010 – My skin for my IPad came today. Of course I ordered green.

Thursday, September 30, 2010 – Half moon in the morning sky.

Friday, October 1, 2010 – Whitney and Ben opening gifts at a wedding party.

Sunday, October 3, 2010 – The Golden Rod is in bloom everywhere. One of my favorite things of Fall.

Sunday, October 3, 2010 – Took some photos at the Artist Colony at Children’s Harbor.

Monday, October 4, 2010 – It was cold out tonight so I decided that was reason enough to wear my awesome boots.

Tuesday, October 5, 2010 – The lake was so blue this morning.

Wednesday, October 6, 2010 – Having some work done on the van.

Thursday, October 7, 2010 – Field trip with the gifted students to Moundville.

Saturday, October 9, 2010 – View through my rear view mirrors. Don’t worry I stopped to take the photo.

Another gorgeous sunset over the lake.

Sunday, October 10, 2010 – Taking a photo of my pawpa’s fiddle with my piano for a painting I want to do soon.

Monday, November 11, 2010 – Heading to exercise early in the morning and greeted by the sprinklers on the course.

Tuesday, October 12, 2010 – The kitten caught a chipmunk. Anytime the kitten is outside the dog follows him around as much as possible trying to take care of him.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010 – Early morning fog over the yard.

Friday, October 15, 2010 – I met Lisa Leonard!! Love her jewelry!

Friday, October 15, 2010 – Whitney and Ben at their rehearsal.

Friday, October 15, 2010 – Ben’s sister Gretchen loved teasing Squirt about being her boyfriend.

Saturday, October 16, 2010 – Whitney and Ben’s big day finally arrived.

WhitBenHamm-Oct162010_101610_0671Aweb

And of course my little squirt all dressed up for the wedding. Isn’t he handsome?

Monday, October 18, 2010 – I traveled to Kentucky to spend a couple of days with a friend and attend a workshop on gifted children with her. Decided to stop in Downtown Franklin, TN for lunch. Such a great little area.

Thursday, October 21, 2010 – Squirt doing homework.

Friday, October 22, 2010 – A full moon.

Saturday, October 23, 2010 – Squirt wrote a letter to our World Vision sponsor child.

Sunday, October 24, 2010 – I love my little flats from Gap.

Monday, October 25, 2010 – Our favorite tree, our Japanese Maple, isn’t its usual bright red this Fall.

Monday, October 25, 2010 – Squirt starting a frog painting at art lessons.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010 – Morning sky.

Thursday, October 28, 2010 – Started knitting a scarf.

Thursday, October 28, 2010 – As I was leaving after exercising this deer was right behind the guard house and just stopped and stared.

Friday, October 29, 2010 – Asked one of the sweet teenagers I know to take some photos of me. Such a different experience being in front of the camera, but I wanted some new photos of me instead of more self-portraits in the mirrors.

102910_0079Aweb